Llayland’s Food, Oracle, and Haskell

August 14, 2008

A quick gripe

Filed under: Oracle — llayland @ 5:14 am

I really did not want the Oracle section of this blog to be my whining about all the nasty things Oracle does to me. It is just hard to find the time and motivation to write up anything positive when I run into three new (to me at least) bugs in three days. So, I’m going to gripe:

I hit the bug in metalink note 469587.1 where “Error PLS-00167 : keyword BULK is used in a wrong context” is raised with an incorrect interval literal. Of course, I had to come up with a unique twist of my own. Apparently this:

INTERVAL '.1' SECOND

is not valid and should be:

INTERVAL '0.1' SECOND

The other thing I ran into is that binds of objects tend to cause bugs. This applies to both explicit binds in dynamic sql and the implicit binds of pl/sql variables in sql statements. I’ll write up a good post sometime soon, but for now just note that the type information seems to get lost and that using the treat function around the bound variable to get the type information back seems to fix things.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

